Capital adventures

By marchmont

My diary day

'In 1937 Mass Observation called for people from all parts of the UK to record everything they did from when they woke up in the morning to when they went to sleep at night on 12th May. This was the day of George VI’s Coronation. The resulting diaries provide a wonderful glimpse into the everyday lives of people across Britain and have become an invaluable resource for those researching countless aspects of the era.'


Mass Observation are still asking people to record their day on 12 May and donate their diary to the Mass Observation record.  You can find more information here. I'm donating my blip diary for today.


I'm sleeping better.  I think getting up earlier may have reset my Circadian rhythm. But I was glad to hear rain on the Velux when I woke about 6. This meant I could drive to the pool rather than cycle for my 7.30 slot.  And outside it was cold and wet. Yet again the slow lane was full of the chatterers, the walking backwards and the stop halfway i.e. all those who don't follow 'them thar rules'.  I graduated myself to the medium lane but I was stopping at 30 minutes anyway rather than the allocated 45 minutes as I had to get back to shower, dress and breakfast (omelette, tea and my Vitamin D tab) before logging on at 8.45 for a team meeting at 9.


Outside it was still wet so not much wildlife going about and even Willow preferred the sofa. Sensible cat. The meeting was good and I stayed on after to catch up with my new colleague.  Unexpectedly the doorbell rang and a DHL delivery arrived. Didn't realise till much later that it was 2 gin cocktails from Orchid in Aberdeen. That is Friday evening's Zoomers sorted.  Then I spent the next couple of hours frantically trying to get things done and solve a few issues before I changed PC and logged on to my own one to Chair the College's Nominations Committee.  One member had to leave after an hour so it felt like quite a rush to get through the business.


I was supposed to be off but I'd a couple of things to complete and I'd left my work phone on so that meant another hour supporting and answering questions for my new colleague. 


By that time I really needed out. Being tied to a laptop screen gets to me some days, not to mention hurts my back.  Hadn't seen Mum for a while so drove down to the Manor and had a chat though there is not much to say, we are doing so few new things.  I've brought home her Dyson to check as it's not picking up and I realised I need to do a Sainsbury's online order for her.


Went to Sainsbury's at Cameron Toll on the way home to fill up my fridge.  The store was almost empty.  I had a bit of a faff logging back on to Smartshop.  Annoyingly it logs you automatically from time to time.  I was really hungry (lunch had  been some mini oatcakes on the hoof) and it's not a good idea to shop for food when hungry.  I bought pizza for tea and some rose wine and other goodies.  


The pizza was actually pretty good and the chocolate torte was even better but soon it was time for our last Zoom Choir rehearsal, but only after I'd listened live to 'The Archers'.  I usually listen on BBC Sounds but I wanted to know the next bit of the Alice alcohol story. It's always interesting when we the listeners know more than some of the characters.  Emma's confrontation with Brian was a classic.  


The choir has been singing together on Zoom since last June, almost a year and tonight we sang through the repertoire like a concert.  Of course it's not a concert as you can only hear yourself sing but the 15 minutes break out rooms is always a good way of catching up at the end.  We're thinking of a 'picnic in the park' in the summer (if it ever arrives) and really hoping we will be back singing in person in September. 


Ended the evening not watching 'The Great British Sewing Bee' but a programme on BBC4 about blitz bombs.  I think I've seen it before but it was still very interesting. Then like Zebedee at 10 it was time for bed.


My trip to Glasgow on Sunday may be in jeopardy.  My friend lives on the edge of Battlefield one of the areas in the Southside where Covid-19 numbers have spiked.  One step forward, one step back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.