A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Early treat on the pond

A lovely morning for the walk up the hill before 7.00 am and then a walk around the St Ives estate with the ladies (and one man).
At the end of the walk Wilsden Walker and I stayed on at the pond to indulge in watching the seven cygnets which are less than one week old. We tried to encourage them on to the bank by feeding the parents as in the water they are never still.
I chose this one as I liked that it didn’t have it’s head down but it isn’t 100% crisp. They were busy searching the water and bobbing in and out of the flag Iris at the pond’s edge. They didn’t know what to do with the swan and duck food I was throwing to the adults and ducks.

The ducklings I saw on Tuesday weren’t in evidence but after some M&S shopping Chris and I called at the 5 Rise cafe on our way home for coffee and we saw two lots of ducklings on the canal. One pair looked very young and the other slightly older.

It has clouded up since we got home but no rain yet thankfully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.