A trip to 'Our Fine City'

I woke early today. I was picking Dan up for a shopping trip to Norwich, so got up at 7. Mollie came with me (squashed into the back of my mini) and we picked him up at 8.30 and were in Chapelfield shopping by 9.20. A few people about, but not heaving. I guess lots are still cautious about mixing. The city looks deflated. So many empty shops: Debenhams, Top Shop, Top Man, Game, HMV...the list goes on. I'm sure it will get worse before turning a corner, if it ever does.

I went to the post office, Mollie had a dress to change (which she did successfully) and the main reason for shopping, I bought Daniel a new pair of walking boots. An excellent service in Cotswolds, where they measured Daniel's feet, and wrote all the measurements down - width length etc. I don't think I've taken him to have his feet measured for new shoes since he was about 15!

It was a successful day of shopping apart from me losing my debit card :-(. I noticed about an hour later, we estimated. Rang Barclays, who blocked it. It was a worry when you know people can tap and spend £45 in a second. When I got home I cancelled it and ordered a new one, as the card was definitely lost.

In the afternoon, I spent an hour or so tidying the conservatory. At the moment it still looks worse than when I started, but I will finish it tomorrow and then it will look amazing! Jon and Henry had managed to get half the patio grouted which was a huge leap forward, but in the end the rain stopped them progressing and it has rained ever since.

Mollie packed some of our craft bits to see if we can sell at a car boot sale in a few weeks, once we have sorted out some decent car boot stuff.

Have watched Jonny Vegus and his glamping journey tonight, and now off to bed, as I am feeling very tired!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.