Sunday

We have had a tiny bit of sun and a lot of rain. I did manage to sort out in the greenhouse, and found a lovely toad. Then I pricked out and potted up lots of tomato plants. But eventually the rain was too heavy and I finished up outside, and went indoors where I had lots of other jobs lined up.

The rain was quite torrential, hammering on the conservatory roof. I prepared dinner for the evening and made an apple and blackberry crumble with fruit from the freezer. Mollie made ice cream this morning. I decided to make some candles. which I recruited Henry’s help with. They were better than the last lot, and good enough to sell I think. Some green with sage scent, white with honeysuckle and pink rose. Most with petals I dried from dad’s funeral flowers. They look lovely. I’ll take another photo of them finished and add it. I still get some small holes near the wick, but I can’t seem to work out how to fix it - it’s air bubbles. But they are still nice candles.

I dashed up to the allotment when I had a 45 minute window between putting the potatoes to roast around the meat, and it being ready to carve. I was pleased to see my potatoes are at last coming up. Fed the hens, collected the eggs and was so excited to see hundreds of tiny seedlings coming up on my wild flower mound. The result of my bee friendly see scattering I hope. Either way, I was intrigued when I zoomed in, to see how different they all are. It means I won’t be letting the hens out, because they will just eat them all up.

Dinner was delicious and pudding even better, especially the ice cream. Then I went and soaked in the bath for an hour watching antiques road show on my iPad. I’ve been looking forward to that Bath all week.

It’s been busy, but I’ve enjoyed this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.