After work gardening

After quite a long day at work (8 till 5) I went straight to a variety of gardening jobs, beginning with the construction of 2 of dad's innovative 'Plant Staking Frames' - an invention of dad's from the 1980s. Packaged in a flat brown cardboard box which had had made, or had made, an instruction diagram, and all the bits. His advert says 'Bridge that bag' - quite clever I think! I wish I knew how many he had actually sold. I remember him having adverts in relevant publications. At £11.35 (including £3.05 p&p and vat) I can't imagine he made a lot of money, but he always worked so hard trying different ideas to make a bit of money. A bit like me with my crafts, but I think dad was more successful than me. Henry helped me, and I now have 2 in my small garden veg patch. Then I planted 3 tomato plants, 2 courgettes, some French beans (climbing and dwarf) some cucumbers and then 3 drills of carrots, radish and lettuce. They were delayed because I hadn't managed to dig over the bed. They still have time to grow though, and hopefully I will remember to succession plant more in the coming weeks. My runner beans need to go to the allotment so I hope to do that later in the week.

We also looked at our tents to decide which one to take on holiday. It's only 4 weeks. We put one up but decided it wasn't really big enough and that we would like our bigger one as we will be living in it for 2 weeks. It's no replacement for a caravan, but I still want a bedroom!!

These lighter evenings make you forget the time! I'm in now and having a bit of TV time before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.