Dunbar Castle

Another grey-ish morning, though not as thick cloud as yesterday.  BB headed out to rugby and I eventually dragged myself out for a 5km run, which became a five mile run.  That felt like a real achievement.  It was then back to chores and endless loads of washing.  Where does it all come from?  I know where it comes from and I can’t understand how one boy can generate so much laundry. 
BB was grumpy before and after rugby – in fact he has been quite grumpy and rude for a  while.  He was underwhelmed and ungrateful for his lunch, and so the teen attitude continued.  It’s been building up for a while, and come mid-afternoon I had had enough.  I called him out yet again, he stormed off and thumped about  yet again and I took his X-box controller.  I was very calm about the whole thing.  TT was outside building a new greenhouse.  I told him what had happened and that I was going out.  I drove to Dunbar (with the controller!!).
As I drove further east it got brighter and brighter. There was still a cool breeze, but I had a lovely solo walk along the cliffs, round by the harbour and was planning to walk along the east beach, but the tide was too high. As I was walking past the harbour the lifeboat was launched, which was quite unsettling.
I got home to find TT still doing giant meccano in the back garden!   I found the teen half asleep under a blanket on the sofa.   Later he apologised for his behaviour, which I accepted – but I haven’t returned the controller.
We had our first takeaway curry of the year tonight – in fact it is so long since we had one, we can’t actually remember when we last had a curry we didn’t make ourselves.  It went down very well expect I got okra instead of aubergines – bhindi instead of brinjal.  Okra is not one of my favourite things and I would never order it, but it was ok.
Banning the Xbox has its downsides as BB took over the front room to watch a movie. However TT joined him.  Later I watched the first ever episode of the Royle Family and the first ever episode of Brookside.   Bobby and Sheila become Jim and Barbara.
The sea was a wee bit choppy, which is presumably why the lifeboat was called out (extra).  The late afternoon sun was really showing off the red sandstone cliffs. You can see the ruins of Dunbar castle on the clifftop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.