Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A challenging walk

The weather forecast was better for this morning than this afternoon, so I made an effort to start fairly early.

I walked a circular route from Birtley (Northumberland) via Chipchase Castle and Gunnerton. It was a muggy morning and the promised rain stayed away until I had done 6 miles.  Then there was significant rainfall.

Early in the walk I "discovered" a dearth of footpath signs. Later I had to scramble down into a stream (very dry) and up the other side to regain my path. Worse was to come. There is a section of footpath where trees have been felled and seedlings planted. There are also lots of birch seedlings and brambles running wild. It was almost impossible to get through.

I asked at the farm to be told that the people who own the land have not reinstated the path and no one seems to walk it. Not surprising. I will report it but do not expect any action. There is no alternative at that point.

I saw numerous wildflowers. The beech woods are just wonderful, with dancing pale leaves. Near Chipchase I saw several orange tip butterflies (but heard no cuckoos). This one stayed still for me and was just about to take off when I captured this shot. (Well done again to the 35mm lens.)

My sat nav said I had walked 9 miles, give or take. I am a little stiff and sore tonight but very pleased I made it, despite the rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.