The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Stormy

The prominent building at the top of the High Street is the Mediaeval town hall, the oldest known building in Stroud. Until recently it housed Harriet's Organic hairdressing, where I used to go, but they've moved to the revamped Five Valleys centre, and my hairdresser has gone independent. Loose, the shop that sells dry goods without packaging (bring your own) has moved again. It started in Gloucester Street, two years ago or so, then moved slightly uphill but more off the beaten track, to Lansdown. Now it's gone as high up the town as it can really go. I wish them well. Next to it is the faery grotto, or some such establishment. Really not my thing, and they don't like children in there either.

I had stopped to rest on a bench between shopping and slogging home. The morning's sunshine had given way to a torrential thunderstorm. Luckily I'd got the nursery children out to play on the field before 10, so we had a good hour of outdoor play before going in again, and they LOVED the storm! Fortunately I also got home without getting too wet. The first storm had subsided and the second one was rumbly, but not nearly as wet.

Since coming home I've mostly been prepping my stall goods for tomorrow evening's set up. I have to go over to Cheltenham to meet Dave during the day. We're going to a Turkish restaurant. I do wonder how long things will stay open this time. The news from today's press Briefing was ominous. The Indian variant of CoVid is on the rise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.