Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Stitchwort amongst bluebells

I went for a very short walk at Wark this afternoon. The bluebells are just past their best, but there are still swathes of blue in the woods. The scent is delicious.

I like it when the white greater stitchwort joins the bluebells so I have photographed some for my blip today.

Research reveals that stitchwort was used as a herbal remedy for the stitch you develop in your side on exercising. (I used to get that as a child, but not as an adult.) It has a variety of other names, including "poor man's buttonhole" so perhaps it was used as a buttonhole at weddings.

Margret's car has a fault and had to be taken to a garage in Hexham this afternoon, ready for work on it tomorrow. I followed her in convoy, although I'm not sure what good I would have been if the car broke down!!

Mum and I watched part of Michael's Palin's journey through Slovenia, Kosovo, and Croatia. We have more to watch. I can recommend the series (on BBC iPlayer).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.