Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Bird cherry

I walked in Acomb Woods this morning. It was just a slow amble with the camera.

The woods are at their early summer best. The beech leaves are the green of youth and make the light dappled. There are bluebells, wild garlic, stitchwort, leopard's bane, red campion, lords and ladies (looking like members of the KKK), crosswort, globe flowers (in abundance), hawthorn blossoms and many more. The birds sang joyfully and the river rushed by.

I love bird cherry but the flowers do not last long so I chose it for today's blip.

Two of Mum's embroidery friends came this afternoon. The laughter rang around the house as they chatted and shared their work. Gill brought some fabulous lace of wild animals. Rosemary had a completed panel of trees - very unusual and I'm sorry I didn't photograph both.

I met the widower of a walking friend with his son and tenth grandchild plus two dogs. That was a good meeting. 

Later two women with dogs chatted. We realised that it is only locals who know about the woods here. They are not on the tourist trail. We felt very lucky.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.