carliewired

By carliewired

Rivers Trails West

A short walk along
the west end gave me the peace
I needed today

~ carliewired

We're in for some warm days this week with a cool down on the weekend. This morning the temperature was 16 C overnight with a high for today of 27 C. I may need to uncover/engage the air conditioner shortly. 

My first stop this morning was for a view over the flooded field in front of Tranquille Farms. I missed an eagle taking off from one of the fenceposts here. The area is alive with birds. A painting friend saw me as she drove by and gave me a call. 

I didn't feel at all energetic this morning. I stopped to admire the wildflowers and marvel at how the sagebrush gets itself wound around fenceposts and barbed wired. Its gnarly presence is an artform in itself. Last year's hay bales are being taken over by this year's crop of weeds. Three freight trains went by in the time I was walking. Those heading west to the coast were carrying wheat and coal. Each had three engines, with two pulling and one in the middle of their long line of cars. 

I chatted with some dog walkers and left my quilted heart on a cottonwood tree branch beside the fence. It was a low energy walk on a low energy day. 

I am wearing my orange shirt today. Our provincial teachers' association has requested we all wear our shirts to acknowledge the finding of 215 missing children discovered here last week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.