carliewired

By carliewired

Flora & Fauna

A short drive along
the north side finds blooms and the 
many nurseries

~ carliewired

I drove to McArthur Island before 7 AM. Morning is the best time for light and activity. I wanted to see how the goslings were coming along. The north side of the island beside the slough seems to be the focus of goose activities now. I can see why it is attractive to them. The water is calm and they can access it quickly and easily.

Many goose families were up on the roadway. They nestled into the grass along the edge of the Butterfly Garden. They strolled across the drive with their broods.I was surprised how undaunted they all seem to be while foot traffic and bicycles pass by them closely. 

There seems to be a contingent of non-parenting geese who are free to graze and wander where they so choose. Is this the Old Boys' Club? An armada held a large presence on the slough. At one point they rose up in unison and took flight over the bridge. Another group poked through the grasses around the fencing, completely without responsibility for any goslings. 

This morning I caught up with the city worker who takes care of the plantings in the Butterfly Garden. She was working diligently to groom the flowers. I thanked her for keeping the area so beautifully. I hope I'm not the only one who gives her a pat on the back. 

I left my quilted heart beside the walkway near the Butterfly Garden. 

It was 15 C overnight. We are promised a high of 33 C today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.