Morning with Marmots

Many little ones
scamper about the grassy
fields looking for food

~ carliewired

I was up ridiculously early drinking coffee in the dark this morning. The remains of the thunderstorm from yesterday has lingered. The valleys are socked in and everything is wet. I drove out of the cul de sac just after 6 to discover a lot of gravel and small debris had come down onto the storm drains along the streets. 

I was in McArthur Island to search for marmots. It doesn't take any great skill to find them. As soon as I drove over to the south side of the island, there was one of the adult marmots perched on top of a bench. They seem to be everywhere! There are many little ones scurrying in every direction. They are rather timid. When something alarms them (and it doesn't take much) they flee to the river bank and home. The older marmots are not so easily disturbed. They look at me, then continue eating. 

I got a shot of the Thompson River and the gloomy clouds over the downtown. I don't think we'll get that sunny day we were expecting. 

I was home again before 7:30. I think I'll try for a nap and then back to quilting/sewing. 

The forecast offers a cloudy day with a high of 26 C and perhaps some showers in the afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.