Wetlands - Tranquille

The wetlands, sombre
in greys and greens, brings new life
to this new landscape

~ carliewired

Again, I'm up all too early. Had my first coffee and was out the door by 6:30. It's a damp morning with all of 13 C when I left the house. 

I'd put my bin out for collection at the curb about 4:30. When I backed out the car I discovered that my annoying neighbour had relocated my bin so it was in the direct line of travel. He's done this before and I wish he'd just mind his own business. I had to get out and move it back where I'd placed it initially. 

I made a quick trip to Tranquille to see how the wetlands were looking. The area of water has greatly increased since my last stop here. As the rivers rise with spring runoff, the wetlands grow. What was a small pond now looks like a lake. Water is filling the pasture where the cows were calving not long ago. It always seems odd to see fences in water. Canada geese were making the most of the new waterways. It looked like Saturday night bathtime for them. 

I drove out to the farm at the end of the road and turned around to catch a view of my mountains in the east. I found a peregrine falcon  osprey poised on a power pole at the farm. I took my shot of him and then he glided down over the wetlands. Several views of the wetlands show the expanding waters. 

I was on the lookout for more wild roses but I could only find the white catchfly and lots of yellow mustard. 

I left my quilted heart at Vantage Point near the airport as I drove home.

I'm in with my radio and my sewing machine. 

It looks like a wet day coming up with clouds and a high of 21 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.