Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Teddies for Tragedies

Here is the latest member of the bear family to come off my knitting needles. He does not have a name and will go with a shipment to Lesbos late in the summer. I was put in touch with Sue, who knits and collects offerings from knitters all over the UK, by weeflecky. (Blip can take you in unexpected directions!)

So far I have knitted a few little hand puppets (bears) but this is the first stuffed one. The pattern is from Teddies for Tragedies. They aim to give the bears out to refugee and displaced children who have no toys of their own.

I have pottered at home all day. Liz came for a chat in the garden this afternoon. That was lovely. Margret brought cooked ham from the butcher in Wark. How lucky I am to live here.

I fitted in an interview with George Monbiot at Hay this morning. Some of the ideas and thinking were new to me. It was excellent stuff.

I also saw Tony Blair with Alastair Campbell - less impressive. Sarah Winman was interviewed by Natalie Haynes about her book Still Life - another one I want to read now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.