Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Very changeable

I was keen to start walking early today because the forecast was for heavier showers this afternoon. I walked from home to Keepershield Farm and back via Haughton Castle.

There was a chilly wind from the North West. You expect it to be from the North East and the Arctic when it is so cold. When the sun came out I was much too hot.

I did try to go a bit further but the farmer had tied up one of the gates with old bailer twine and I could not loosen the knot. I think I need to take more string/twine with me and my Swiss Army knife. The gate was so unsteady I could not climb it (like most of the gates on his farm). It is a public right of way......

Just at that moment, the rain started. It was very heavy and I struggled into my waterproof trousers and headed for Haughton Castle (inhabited).

Within 15 minutes the rain stopped. I was so hot that I had to remove my jacket as well as the trousers. By the time I came home it was pouring again. 

It was quite exhilarating in the wind and I saw some beautiful elder in flower. The blossoms are creamy white and gorgeous. The hogweed is finally breaking out. It is muscular and determined. My blip was taken in a verge where the cow parsley and the the ferns are growing happily together. I liked the contrast between the two.

Otherwise the day has been taken up with jobs in the home. I listened to David Nott from last year's Hay Festival while I did the ironing. He is a surgeon who has worked a lot in war zones and has set up a foundation to train local doctors to deal with traumatic injuries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.