Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

I can see you!

Today I walked about 7.5 miles (we split the difference from our various apps) with Eric, Kay, Brian and Jean. It was a beautiful day for walking: dry, sunny, slight breeze and not too hot.

We started at the hamlet of West Hall, west of Gilsland and did a circular route through fields of sheep and cows, up to Spadeadam House and round by Dunblar Rigg.

The extra was a heavily fortified stile. The gate next to it sported two padlocks. A few years ago I led a Haltwhistle Walking Festival walk in this area. There was one line of barbed wire. I took along a tube of polystyrene, the sort used to lag pipes, fitted it and we all got over safely. I fear the landowner is not in the "Walkers are Welcome" brigade.

We found part of the route challenging because it seems that no one walks here, but Brian heard a cuckoo, we saw swathes of wildflowers and I found the gate at the end of the awkward bit. Phew!

Back in Haltwhistle, we had a drink with Brian and Maureen at The Manor.

PS Don't say anything, but Arth enjoyed today's walk and hardly squeaked at all. Hooray!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.