Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another special visitor

It's been a hectic day. I am sitting with the study window wide open to bring a welcome cool breeze inside and to listen to the blackbird singing gloriously from a nearby chimney.

I started with very good intentions. I was in Hexham for a shop at Aldi just about 9.30am. It was quiet. I was quick. 

I needed a few extras from Tesco, next door. I packed the boot and set off to Tesco at speed with two shopping bags, my phone, car keys and purse. (I was certain of this.)

Whizzed around Tesco and arrived breathless at the checkout because I had just enough time to get home before the first visitor arrived. No purse. 

Definitely no purse.

Ran back to car (in Aldi carpark). No purse. Remember I was sure I had it on my way to Tesco.

No one handed it in at Aldi or Tesco. My Tesco shop (nearly all frozen) had to go back to the freezer asap.

Home just in time to empty shopping bags before Barbara arrived. Yes, purse was with shopping from Aldi.

Always distrust anyone who says they are certain (about anything)!

Barbara's parents, Meda and her late husband, Douglas, from Sunderland were close friends of my parents. Meda is not well enough to travel and missed Mum's birthday in September. 

Barbara is full of life, shouts all the time and never draws breath. It was lovely to see her for an hour. She is off to camp at Glastonbury for a week this year.

As she left, there was a call from my cousin, Jean, in New Zealand. She is now in a retirement village and beginning to have memory problems (aren't we all?!)

After that, there was time for a quick lunch before Kay and Eric arrived. It was so good to see them and we had a lovely afternoon.

Apart from doing a load of washing and searching for and finding my debit card (oh dear, I am doing badly today), I went to buy fish and chips for our dinner from the van in the village

I've rambled enough, but I am waiting to see how Boris reacts to the big vote against him. Will he resign? I doubt it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.