Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Welsh poppy

I allowed myself to sleep in to 0830 and then to have a lazy morning in my pyjamas! Yesterday was quite overwhelming and I needed to recover (delicate thing that I am)!

This afternoon, I drove to Hexham and bought the bedding plants for our central border. Thankfully they still had some single colour begonias, so I bought red and white plus blue lobelia (get the theme?).

I also bought plants for the tubs so the work is ahead. Dick will probably plant the central border and I'll do the tubs.

I did a quick shop in Waitrose for some of the things I did not get in Tesco yesterday.

One of the real characters in our village died yesterday. Jim has been in hospital for several weeks with heart failure and I was not surprised to hear that he had died. His widow, Judith, was 90 last month. 

She was due to celebrate her birthday next Saturday, when her family could get together for the party. Yesterday she developed Covid (probably caught from Jim in his nursing home), so the party was cancelled. Then she heard that Jim had died.

Jim was a dentist in County Durham, He was old enough to have been given the task of extracting all the teeth of young women, who were then fitted with dentures for their 21st birthdays. How times change.

I had good intentions of doing some macro flower photography this week after Tony North's workshop last Saturday. This Welsh poppy was fully open in the sun, but started to close as soon as I brought it into the house. No fancy techniques were used - it's a single shot taken in the window light in the kitchen, with the oven splash back behind it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.