Hot

I was working in the Office again today, all on my own as usual. 

Like yesterday I was able to cycle there and back. 

One of the hazards of the route is a pedestrian crossing - which should not be classed as a hazard, should it? I get off my bike and use it because the cycle lane ends there, I need to cross anyway and the pavement is too narrow for a cyclist and pedestrian to pass safely - see the Extra. 

The crossing is a hazard because drivers regularly go through it without stopping. It is there for all kinds of reasons (a busy Aldi at one end of it) but the biggest user group are children on their way to/from a local high school. 

Yesterday I saw the damage to the safety railing, and my forensic lawyer’s mind tried to work it out. Well, there’s a junction right opposite that damage, and an area of yellow box to allow drivers to exit right from that junction when the crossing lights are at red. I reckon a driver has gone through the light at red, and swerved into the railing to avoid colliding with a car emerging from the junction.  

I did do some work today as well. Really. I did. But it was boring…

I also went out and had a good lunch. All those calories banked by cycling to work… On the menu they call it a Polish hot dog. I will be back. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.