Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Whale of a Day

I had an appointment with my ortho ankle doctor, so this afternoon I was off to Tucson. It was to follow up on the ankle I fractured on 31 December 2018. She ordered new x-rays. I’m not sure I believe it, but she said the little piece of bone that was floating around in my ankle joint wasn’t there. No sign of arthritis, either. She claimed that my ankle had healed. Ha! My version: not possible. You don’t jump when the doctor presses on a spot if nothing is wrong. We discussed treatment options and rather than opt for more cortisone injections, I chose to have an MRI. Test date TBD.

As I was pulling out of the clinic, I watched a helicopter land on the adjacent hospital - Tucson Medical Center. I stopped for a photo which is the extra. Traffic was really heavy, I suppose because a lot of people head out early on a Friday. I never noticed this mural before. I was at a dead stop and was able to take a picture. There was a homeless man standing under the viaduct when I was stopped waiting to get onto the freeway. The best I could do for the guy was hold out three bottles of water for him to grab.

Finally on the freeway, I ran into construction which narrowed traffic into one lane. Ugh. So I got off where I knew there was an Olive Garden because I hadn’t eaten all day. The hostess first asked me if I wanted to sit/eat at the bar. Don’t know why she thought that I would. Anyway, had a small plate of angel hair with marinara. Brought some home, too.

I feel pretty good about the day. Got what I was hoping for from the doc, helped a guy who really needed water in 104°/40° heat, and had a plate of my favorite pasta. Three for three. I’ll take it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.