Level Crossing

I must have used this level crossing hundreds or even thousands of times: in my jogging days I very often went over it, and it's now on my most common route for my morning walks.

I've blipped it as it's rather interesting. Currently it's on a stretch of line which is used only for goods traffic (indeed, occasionally I've found it blocked by a long stationary good train and then had to divert to an alternative route). However I noticed a planning permission sign the other day which indicates that in due course it will be closed,, and the right of way diverted through a new pedestrian underpass several yards away. This is in connection with the proposed "Northumberland Line Project" which will reintroduce passenger trains between Ashington and Northumberland. This seems an excellent move - reversing one of the Beeching cuts made in 1964.

I'm sure Thomas the Tank Engine will be pleased as he'll be able to pull Annie & Clarabel along it again - this photo of him was "taken" at this crossing! (OK I just put that in so that I could tag this for an ("unofficial") Silly Saturday in memory of Admirer. I'm sure she would have chuckled.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.