Hedge Bindweed...

...a perennial flowering vine that twines around other vegetation or fences for support and has large white trumpet shaped flowers. Thanks to Miranda for hosting the wildflower week challenge.  I woke up pretty early this morning (well, 0615, which is early for ME) and while I still felt tired I couldn't go back to sleep so I got up, took the camera and went to the park to walk along the bluff, which is where I found the bindweed. (Not that it's hard to find, as it's pretty common in most of the fields and along the edges of some of the roads). The bluff has "paths" made by people walking through the long grass & plants, but these narrow paths are usually mowed by the park service for easier walking but they haven't been this year; at least, not so far. I was trying to watch out for all the spider webs that went across the paths & thought I'd done a good job of avoiding them until I returned to my car, looked down and saw the front of my capris were littered with a mix of webs and tons of tiny black bodies. It caused a momentary shudder, but hey, I've seen worse, so I just grabbed an old towel I keep in the back of the car and brushed them all off. I have to pick Mae up from daycare at 5 & take her to her dance class. It'll be another lesson in humility for me, as both times I picked Mae up last week, Noelia wouldn't come near me. In fact, the second time I came she ran for Miss Yolanda and put her arms out to be picked up by her. I was thinking to myself--based on Noelia's behavior--that  Miss Yolanda was not going to believe that I was really Noelia's grandma, so I said to her that Noelia won't come near me when I haven't seen her for awhile. "How long has it been since you've seen her", asks Miss Yolanda. I answer, "about 3 days"..........I don't think it helped my case! LOL. Jennie couldn't stop laughing when Miss Yolanda told her what had happened, and had to tell Miss Yolanda that Noelia's other grandma stayed with them for 2 weeks, and it took 8 days before Noelia would go near her. When her grandma came back the following month, Noelia wouldn't go near her........at least it's not just me!   :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.