carliewired

By carliewired

Swim At Your Own Risk

Words of warning for
risk-takers on the river -
Be safe, not sorry

~ carliewired

I was out of the house before 7 and it was already 21C. Summer is upon us. 

There is some smoke in our valleys as the fire near Lytton has grown to 350 hectares. Crews are battling the fire in a steep, rocky area. Helicopters are working above dumping water from buckets while ground crews work from the bottom. The news has reported that a drone was sighted in the area on Saturday which halted all helicopter work temporarily. This wildfire is still out of control. 

I was in Riverside Park in the small portion of the Rivers Trail between the railway bridge and the pier. I left my quilted heart on a bench. 

Five common merganzers (gooselander) were cuddled up on the shoreline and then headed out onto the river. 

In this section of the Thompson River the foreshore has now been cordoned off in blue to designate a swimming area. I'm not understanding why anyone would be dipping their toes in the river when we have beautiful indoor pools on offer. Certainly, in the 'old days' that's all people had available, but now, with fast-flowing, murky water, this seems foolish as a swimming choice. The signs are up all around the area as a caution. 

We are in full sun today and going for a daytime high of 35 C. I will be indoors enjoying my A/C now that I've had my jaunt for the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.