A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Scottish Foxgloves

A drier day with cloud but the mountains were visible so we headed over to Achvraie and parked by Bellas Bothy where we normally park to do what we call the ‘postie’ walk to Culnacraig. Today though we were doing a shorter circuit taking in the ‘pink’ beach. No one there so we enjoyed walking along it and watching a small group of share feeding birds. We thought they were some sort of Plover but according to the Collins Scottish Birds they were probably Knots or possibly Dunlins - extra. If anyone knows otherwise I would be pleased to know. They were fun to watch hopping too and fro with the incoming water.

We commented that the beach had very little visible plastic unlike some but then of course we spotted some and ended up litter picking till we returned to the car via Acheninver with its hostel and pods and following the little valley carved out by the stream.

I’ve blipped Bella’s Bothy before it just appeals to me. Don’t think anyone was in residence today but I loved it’s garden of Foxgloves so have made them my blip for Flower Friday.
The other flower I could have chosen is everywhere - Alchemilla. Funnily enough two blippers put pictures of it on yesterday. We’ve rarely visited in June so I’ve not noticed how extensively it grows on the verges here.

We were passed by another Great Skua on our way back to a chilled afternoon as we we’re eating out early tonight.

Lovely meal to round off our holiday. Chris had scallops and I had seafood pie. I was tempted by chowder to start but thought it would be too much. I can hear you (freespiral) saying more pies but I left nearly all the pastry. The filling was lovely and creamy with langoustines, scallops, salmon and smoked haddock with the odd mussel thrown in.

Where did the week go? Still we have a treat to come before we leave tomorrow.
We’ve got evening sun now. 
Happy weekend everyone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.