An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

It was a hot afternoon...

The last day in June...

Been trying to decide what plants to fill the gaps in the garden and I am getting there with a sort of a plan, but one decision I did make was to stop filling the pots with bedding plants and stick in some perennials instead, so I don't have to start again every year.

So, with that in mind we were up with the larks this morning and at the Dobbies in Stirling at the crack of 11am!  LOL

This is the first time I have been to a garden centre for a long time as there seemed no point when I wasn't able to wander.  Of course my new wheels have changed all that!  Four hours we were there....FOUR hours!  hahahaha!  Although that included lunch.

We perused the household section first.  Bought a new kitchen clock, a little something for the Gin Palace that I won't reveal as I will blip it at some point, a scarf for me (I have so many scarves I could open a shop, but one can never have too many) a candle and a cake to take to Ele's tomorrow.

David paid for that, took it to the car, got a bigger trolley and we hit the plant section.

Recording here what we bought so I know what to replace then with when they wither and die get old.  We don't have a green finger between us!

Hydrangea
Agapanthus
Creeping bellflower
Venus penstemon
Sweet William
Marguerite 
Allium
Lavender

These were bought and loaded into the car, then we returned for the planters, potting compost and stones for the bottom of the planters.

When we got to the car park with these we weren't sure everything would fit in the car!  Felt like one of those eejits you always see in Ikea's car park trying to load a wardrobe into a mini!  Thankfully with a bit of jiggery pokery we got it all in.

Back home and I spent a very pleasant couple of hours getting the plants into their various pots, apart from the Apapanthus, as I didn't have the shape of pot I wanted.

David went in to swim with Alan, while Alan's support worker Ashleigh and I had a chat in the garden (she came out to see what Lola was barking at.  Turns out it was Alan and David as she could see them through the glass doors!  

We were mid chat when suddenly there was an almighty thump that made us with jump.  We turned in time to see a poor pigeon land on the patio, having flown into a window.  Lola was first to attend the scene but Ashleigh called here away and put her safely indoors.  We then investigated.

Poor pigeon. It was a goner. Broken neck.  The only consolation is it was instant so (I hope) it didn't suffer.  I was so sad as two pigeons had kept me amused with their antics while I was potting the plants and not there was only one calling from the tree.

I texted David to let him know the pleasure of disposing of a dead pigeon awaited him.  He was delighted ( David is a bit bird phobic.  He hates their beaks and feet) but he dealt with it appropriately :-)

All this means we had a late dinner and I've just had a text from Tesco reminding me I have a delivery due tomorrow morning.  Better get on with that then. 

Here's hoping I don't fall asleep before checking out!  :-o

PS I didn't buy any foxgloves (but I will :D)  These were in the garden centre.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.