Castle Walls

Brian is off work and today, once we were up and ready we decided to go out to find a Blip. We headed into the Wolds to the ruins of Bolingbroke Castle. It was the birthplace of King Henry IV, though it was never actually a Royal residence.

Only Ruins  remain now. The link (If it works!) will give you some historical background if you want to know more. There's an extra looking over the moat towards the village church too. We had a walk round the churchyard. I'd hoped to find some gravestones of my ancestors in there, as my Dad's paternal line came from the area and owned quite a lot of land etc., which my Great x 4 Granddad lost through wine, women and song apparently! I did not find any evidence, but most of the old stones were unreadable anyway.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.