Best supervisor, most troublesome student

I'm not really a fan of 'best teacher/mother/father/xyz' messages. However, this handwritten one made me laugh. It came with a hydrangea plant that was delivered to my door this afternoon.

It was a complete surprise to receive such a present. Indeed I'm not sure that I deserve it really - I'm just doing my job. Nevertheless, the plant now looks great nestled at the base of the rockery in our back garden.

Otherwise my day followed the usual pattern of late: morning walk with Mr hazelh; research assessment work with an eye on email; breaks for lunch and supper; and evening plant watering. I also wrote a blog post about a paper co-authored with LyndseyM, which has just been published online. This is almost certainly the last piece of work that I will do that is directly related to the PhD studentship that almost never was after I lost a half written grant proposal between a hotel and an airport in Liverpool on 8th February 2015.

There will be more research assessment work tomorrow, with the possibility of outdoor swimming in the evening.

Exercise today: walking (11,119 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.