A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Llanberis Pass

Way below Clogwyn 3/4 of the way up Mt Snowdon, the highest mountain in Wales.

We had our breakfast, provided by Welsh Farm Foods, at the station whilst waiting for the 10.00 am train. (After my dragonfly experience yesterday, which I’m not sure is lucky or not, whilst sitting waiting a bird, which I didn’t see, pooped on my head!) 
The train is currently stopping at this point so we booked a one way ticket to decide when we got up there wether or not to continue on foot or just return.

Great views from here over the cloud topped mountains and the Llanberis pass below which we had driven down earlier. The family in the shot shared our compartment and the seagull is just hoping for some food! 
Looking up was just cloud. Our driver said visibility was poor so as trains weren’t going to the top people could walk up the rails. It was pretty busy and the higher cloud didn’t look to be lifting so we decided just to walk down. 

Very steep in places and quite rough so it took us about 2 hours for the 3.5+ miles. Lovely views, sun and a pleasant breeze. Lots of trains to watch going up and down too.
Wobbly legs by the time we got down so we just stopped for a cup of tea and set off straight home.

Our four days away have felt longer and we’ve certainly had a varied and interesting time. Welsh schools close tomorrow and most English ones next week so I’m glad we’re not going any later as it was certainly busy everywhere. We had everything booked and that’s obviously the way to go with meals too in the current circumstances. Everywhere we’ve eaten we’ve seen people turned away if they hadn’t booked.

Back home for a rest!

Sorry if I missed any comments the wifi really was poor and my iPad was working off my phone so of course I got a warning about my data use!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.