Puffin

Today Bri and I got up earlyish and took a trip over to Bempton Cliffs in Yorkshire. The weather was quite windy which made photographing birds quite difficult. It was pretty chilly up on the cliffs, but the sun was out some of the time!

I wanted to Blip a puffin as it was one of the birds I was most looking forward to seeing - it's a favourite of mine as they are just so cute! This is the best shot I got of a puffin...

I'd also been keen to see the black browed albatross, which is pretty rare for the UK, especially as far South as Bempton! I was fortunate enough to see it in flight and, via Bri's 'scope, preening on a ledge on the cliff-face. It was not close enough to take photos though, at least not with my camera!

There were many razorbills, gannets, guillemots and kittiwakes. I have included an extra of a gannet, and a scenery shot.

All the walking over the rough terrain after such an early start worked up quite an appetite so we stopped off for a fish and chip lunch and some more walking in Bridlington.

Tomorrow is my birthday and we will be going out again, but it has not been decided where yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.