Brenton

The rose we had named for my dad, has today flowered for the first time. It is stunning red, and I took this early today when it had the faint hint of dew still edging the petals. Dad was more of a tomato and chilli man, but I think he'd approve of the rose we chose. Mum, Manda and I all have one, and we potted them on mums birthday with some of dad's ashes to absolutely confirm this was our Brenton, my lovely dad, with an almost unique name (until The Repair Shop - if you are a fan you will know what I'm talking about)

I woke at 6.30. The earlier night worked, although I have to confes to watching Long Lost Family before reading. Still, it felt better and I was up at 6.30. After breakfast I cycled the long way, to the allotment. There, I did some watering, fed the chickens ( Flora is still broody - that has to be 6 weeks she hasn't been laying)

A normal, calmer day at work. At midday I caught a bit of Jeremy Vine on the radio talking about perimenopause. From the people ringing in, I think the way I feel in general is down to this. Although I am on HRT but wonder if there is another type that might make me feel better. So I think I'll get in touch with the Dr to see what they can suggest.

Finished at 4.30 and desperately wanted to get to the sea to cool down, but I needed to do dinner. Once we had eaten the urge had gone, but we drove down to the front at Sheringham and spent a nice hour or so watching the sun go down, sitting on the beach on our little beach chairs, relaxed and read our books. The gulls were active and one flew over and deposited on the open pages of my book! Yuck. Luckily I had a tissue - it could have been worse!

It was a lovely evening. There were groups of teenagers enjoying the sea, in and out, right up to 8.30. What a lovely place to grow up in. We are feeling lucky!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.