White Tailed ....

... fawn.

We had recently read about a field of sunflowers that was close by.

So after lunch we decided to go check it out.  We are always looking for new places to walk so this was perfect.  There is a nice walking trail on this same campus (St. Luke's Hospital) that was paved and pretty much level.  

Along the trail there was lots of milkweed and I couldn't help but check for monarch caterpillars.  We had yet to see any this year and I'm getting discouraged that we would ever see any.  Sadly we haven't seen all that many monarchs this year.  So I was elated when I spotted our first monarch cat munching away on one of the milkweed leaves.  We left it be whilst we continued our walk. 

But ... on the way back we stole rescued it and brought it home.  He/she is now safely inhabiting one of our butterfly enclosures.  And growing bigger by the minute! I hope to post a picture soon.

On the way home I spotted this lovely little fawn laying inside a fenced area near a church parking lot.  I had Richard pull into the parking lot so that I could potentially get a picture.  As I approached her I got this one shot before she jumped up.  I didn't want to scare her any more than I did as I didn't want her to jump the fence and run into traffic so I backed away.  Isn't she lovely?!? (I'm only assuming it's a female because of the absence of antlers.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.