Flesh Fly

I thought initially that it was a shame not to have a proper macro lens with me but really I was close enough to this nuisance with my everyday Sony. I think it's a flesh fly in which case it isn't particularly pleasant. This one was sitting on the bee bed. Amobia signata lays its eggs in the nests of solitary bees and wasps. When the larvae hatch, they eat the food provided by the adult bee or wasp for its own larvae. A kind of insect cuckoo. Interesting but not delightful.

The temperature has dropped to a more manageable level. The farmer is busy getting his bales in after cutting the field. We're forecast for heavy rain but who knows if we'll get it. At the moment the sun is still in evidence though there are some ominous clouds. The garden really needs rain but ideally of the steady, gentle variety not torrential downpours.

Catching up with a friend on the phone soon then some community council work and an early night for me. I'm hoping the drop in temperature will herald more comfortable nights and some better sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.