Hovering on the great burnet

I'm slightly stuck in a rut with insects at the moment. The thing is they're plentiful. In my garden anyway. I know that generally the population of insects is declining. The great burnet is covered in hoverflies. I'm aware that bits of this one are out of focus but I wanted to get its eyes and I couldn't be bothered with the stacking function which wouldn't have worked because it is a bit too breezy. So here it is.

Garden first thing. I didn't give the herbaceous perennials the 'Chelsea Chop' this year. It seemed cruel back in May when the weather was so cold. I should have done it though as so many have already flowered. I over rely on those cheery perennial geraniums which is fine when they are cheery. But when the leaves get that rusty mottled look and the flowers go all sticky - yuk. They have had a severe prune. It looks pretty awful now but it is early enough for them to put out more leaves and probably flowers. In a couple of weeks things will look better.

The trouble with this kind of thing is that it reveals all the informal compost heaps where I've shoved clippings behind taller plants. Oh well I had a good work out sorting that kind of nonsense. Some poor plants that were smothered by the enthusiastic perennials have been given light and air which they will enjoy.

Now I need to get changed as we are going out for lunch. We're off to sit in another garden, this time friends who live round the corner. What a treat. It's so long since we have done anything like this. The sun is back, the temperature is more manageable and there's a refreshing breeze.

I've turned out the airing cupboard and am donating bath and hand towels and some bath mats (how on earth did I accumulate so many of them) to the people organising welcome packs for refugee families. The towels aren't new but they are clean and have life left in them. The flats are being prepared and I hope it will feel nice to step into a hot shower then wrap up in a big towel.

Makes my geranium problems seem ridiculously unimportant. Which of course they are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.