Planning a patchwork

For a while I have had this idea in my head, to create a very big patchwork throw, to cover my small sofa which is threadbare now. Ultimately I would like this sofa to be in the summerhouse, so patchwork will be a bit quirky, and won’t look out of place in there. I can’t move it until I can afford to replace it though, so I don’t know when that will be - but it doesn’t stop me making the throw. I have such a lot of material, a lot of it is flowery, so I chose all pieces with green and/or blue in it. Spent a long time cutting out roughly similar sized rectangles, then arranging them on the floor. I don’t have a big floor space, so had bits going up the stairs! Happy with the lay out, I have just started to sew the strips together. I will then sew the patterned lengths together to make a square. Not sure what to do after that, but I’m sure it will become apparent to me! I am making it up as I go along! Meanwhile, Mollie has made a very stylish tote/holiday/beach bag with some fat quarters, and seems reasonably happy with it - for a perfectionist. I’m sure it could be a new line for ‘hut STUFF’ and so I will add a photo in extras.

That has pretty much been my whole day - all done in front of the tv as the olympics has been gripping today, especially the men’s gymnastics.

A bath now to relax before another week at work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.