LEGS AKIMBO

Matchday today. A pre-season friendly between Newcastle United and Norwich.  Kick off 2pm.  Pensioners ticket only £5.

The bus I went out for didn't turn up and the next one was late - and crowded.  Not a good start to my outing.  But nothing else went wrong.  Newcastle was buzzing.  Lots of people around - shopping , going to the match ... and warching some circus performers who had set up a mini arena on Blackett Street.  This street is normally busy with traffic but every Saturday in August it is closed to traffic, covered in artificial turf and becaomes a Family Zone.  I watched this lady acrobat for a while before continuing on my way to the football ground.

No Covid related restrictions were in force today ( they start in October ) so you didn't need to prove you were double jabbbed or had a negative test.  Masks were worn in the indoor areas but not outside.  It did feel very strange to be among such a large crowd.  The upper tiers of the ground were closed but the bottom ones were packed full.  The attendance was around 20,000

The first haf of the match was rather boring but Norwich were the slightly better team.  Score at half time was 0 - 0.  Newcastle were better in the second half after bringing on a few substitutes and the final score was Newcastle 3 Norwich 0.  Nice to end the pre-season campaign with a win.  The season proper starts next Sunday.  Hopefully my season ticket arrives before then.

After the match I went to Clintons.  There are a few family birthdays coming up so I needed cards and wrapping paper.  They were selling off some of their wrapping paper - 12 rolls for £1.  There were some lovely designs and it was good quality paper so I bought 12. Bargain.  Then to Waitrose for a bit of food shopping and bus home.  Only 2 people got on this bus at Eldon Square.  I think I was ahead of the crowds.

Even before unpacking my shopping I sat on the sofa for a bit ... which turned into quite a while because I fell asleep. 

Steps today - 7,045

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.