AT THE METROCENTRE

Went to The Metrocentre today.  Decided I need a new lightweight summer jacket.  Could I find one - the answer is NO.  Looked in every shop that sold jackets, tried some on but there were none that really appealed.  Some of the shops which used to be favourites such as Laura Ashley, Dorothy Perkins and Debenhams didn't survive the pandemic and they are a big miss.  And the huge House of Fraser is soon to be closed down too.

I did make some purchases in Superdrug and the M & S food dept.  And I bumped into Rachael in M & S.  She was off to the jewellers to get her engagement ring cleaned so it will be all nice and sparkly for her big day next week. Nice to have a long chat with her.

The theme for the Wide Wednesday challenge is History. I took my shot in the Metrocentre Platinum Mall.  There are various images of local heroes and heroines.  My shot shows George Stephenson ( engineer ) born in 1781 in Wylam.  Father of the Railways.  His 4' 8½ inch rail gauge is still the world standard to this day. The other image shows Grace Darling ( heroine ) born in 1815 in Bamburgh. Heroine of The Farne Isles.  She is famed for the rescue of survivors from the shipwrecked Forfarshire in 1838. Thanks to RockArea for hosting the challenge.

Steps today - 10,861 

I have added a screenshot of my Strava stats for my wander around the Metrocentre.  Im always amazed when I see the convoluted route I take around the malls..  I entered the Strava August 50km challenge and today I reached 50k with 13 days still to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.