Morning Light

Summer has waned, we
feel the cool of the autumn
as August ends soon

~ carliewired

I was up before 5:30. When I saw the colour in the sky I knew I had to find a place along the river to reflect that light. 

I was beside the North Thompson River by 6 AM. I parked in the Schubert Drive Lookout to watch the colours spread across the river. 

I had no interactions with others until I made a brief stop at the grocery store. I had to collect the things I'd forgotten the last time I was there. 

I was home before 8 AM. It was 16 C then with a daytime high expected of 26 C. There's still that threat of a thunderstorm hanging over our heads for this afternoon. The air quality is a pleasant 2 on the scale. No promises that will continue. 

The wildfires around us continue to cause concerns. We're hearing today that our fire fighters are wearing out. They are experiencing more 'trips, slips and falls'. 

The residents of Logan Lake will be able to return home shortly. The fire crews did an amazing job protecting that town. A decade ago the town did some work in preparation for fire suppression. It has paid off. 

At the same time, our covid numbers are on the increase with the presence of the Delta variant. Here, I see people carrying on like the pandemic is all over. Few are wearing masks and social distancing seems to have been forgotten. We're about 2 weeks from the start up of school. There's lots of push to mandate masks again, but I fear it will go nowhere. Our governments are very determined to get 'back to business'. I think I will be looking for a cave to hide in. 

We're back to working on the garage and storage areas today. I've lost my enthusiasm. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.