A day in the life

By Shelling

Fruit

In my garden I have Cherry trees, Pear trees, Plum trees and a variety of apple trees. There was hardly any fruit on any of them this year, partly because many of them bore a lot of fruit last year and maybe something went wrong with pollination this year, and partly because nobody takes care of them. The new owners hasn't started looking after the garden yet, because they don't live here, and I don't have the knowledge and has been told not to bother about the garden at all, apart from cutting the grass.

One tree though, the "Melon-apple" or Lemon apple, as we call it, looks like it's going to have a good year, bearing quite a lot of fruit. They taste delicious. The only problem is that all the fruit grows where the sun reaches it, about eight meters up. Last year most of them got damaged when falling to the ground, this year I would like to pick them somehow if I could work out how.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.