Whirlwind

Full on day, and definitely feels like things are shifting on the work and social fronts. Woke with a terrible sore throat but drugged myself up and headed to the office where, after some catch up chats with L and J, I got on with two rounds of shortlisting online before dashing to an event at the Book Festival where we were hosting people at a discussion around the One City Trust…interesting organisation trying to address the inequalities and divisions across the city. Authors reading from their short stories in the new fundraising book were all good (and Irvine Welsh on his best excoriating form!) and I’m interested to get to know more about the trust.
From there had to dash down to the first ‘live’ work lunch with an external foundation…first time I’ve seen P in person for months. Tricky start to the meeting but I think it went well despite overrunning massively and needing to rearrange the afternoon via text as I talked to them.
Dashed back up the hill, astonished to see a fox sauntering across the main road in a very relaxed way, but it disappeared into a close before I could grab my phone to catch a photo.
Couple more meetings online (one uncovering some potential massive holes in a major project) before over to see Joyce DiDonato singing in a programme of Baroque music with a great group of Italian musicians. It was sublime….her voice was so pure yet powerful. Of course despite taking water and cough sweets I had three bouts of coughing, so I kept my mask on and just tried to stifle it (why is that so difficult in these sort of public settings?!). Dashed off at the end to join Book Group late. Lovely evening…lots of chat and laughter and great food as always. Everyone also enjoyed the Lean, Stand, Fall book too (although I haven’t finished it yet).
Dropped MH home then straight to bed…whacked out but a good day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.