a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Father and Daughter

Janet and I took our 90 year old Dad out for a spin in his wheelchair this afternoon.  I say spin, although as I was the motive power it was more of a push.  This is a shot of the pair of them at the half way point on the Steel Mills Bridge over the river Chew.  According to my phone we managed a grand total of 3km which is pretty good going.  

I have a shot of them both smiling at the camera, but I much prefer this test shot of them looking relaxed with each other, even though the bridge hand rail goes through Dad's head.  Compositionally a fail but emotionally a hit.

Although the forecast said that it was 17C it felt chillier and so we wrapped Dad up with a fleece and a blanket when we set off.  Even so, by the time we got him back to the Care Home an hour or so later he was starting to get chilly. It definitely wasn't a day for ice cream in the park.   Back in the day, Dad had a mop of thick hair that would quickly become a bush if not regularly pruned.  He doesn't have so much of that hair left now so we're going to need to put a wooly hat on him in future I can see, and possibly gloves and a scarf too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.