There

A long, long day. Woke up for the Shipping Forecast then shortly afterwards remembered I could download our Digi vax statuses. Took a couple of goes but, I have them.

Then up to do all these last minute things including watering plants though it was very cloudy with a smirr of rain.

The taxi arrived early so we were at the gate by just after 9. The airport was fairly busy and is much changed since 12.12.19. I felt quite nostalgic being back.

I've never travelled full assistance before and going up in the van was an experience. I do like this being wheeked through.

Flight was fine, about 60 passengers and none of the usual pushy Ryanair selling antics.

Getting off in Marseille took a wee while and the douanier looked bored. I don't know if anyone in Edinburgh or Marseille looked at all the paperwork I'd assiduously printed. C'est la vie.

We'd sat beside M and A on the plane and then it was off to the Ardèche. It took 2 + hours (the same length as the flight) and rained most of the way. I dozed/slept much of the way, so tired.

And now after all the stress and worries and ups and downs of the last 3 weeks, we are here. And the sun came out. M and A stayed for dinner on the terrasse. A drank well over the permitted amount for driving. Just saying.

I'm in the gîte so my own apartment and terrasse. But a really hard bed!

I feel like I've completed a rite of passage: flying in the time of Covid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.