Morning on Rose Hill

Sun rising over
the sagebrush, a beautiful
sight to be enjoyed

~ carliewired

It was 10 C and almost clear when I left the house at 6. A bit of wildfire smoke has seeped into the city around the edges giving our morning a pinky orange glow. 

I drove across the bridge and up Rose Hill Road from the north end. I get views of the city and my mountains as I climb up from the bottom of the valley. 

I spotted a mule deer way up on top of the bluff as I started up the hill. Those big ears are a dead giveaway. Of course, I didn't dare stop on the city street for a shot. 

I found a spot where I could pull my little red bomber onto the shoulder and see the point to the east where the sun was going to appear over the sagebrush. I didn't have to wait long. That little bit of smoke in the air coloured the horizon. 

I drove up to the community mailboxes and looked across the road to the pines. They looked quite dramatic with the orange sun behind them. 

I drove back down the hill to catch the pink light spreading over the city and see my mountains across the valley in profile behind the ridge of pines. 

I was back home with my drive-thru breakfast in time for the 7 AM news. 

Daughter will be house-sitting elsewhere for several days. I will be in charge of the excavation of my art supplies while she's away. 

We're looking at a high of 23 C with a chance of showers this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.