The North Side - McArthur Island

Some relief from smoke
came overnight - windows and
doors can opened

~carliewired

I went to bed with the A/C running. The air quality was not very good, so I lowered the temperature two degrees and hoped for the best. By 5 AM when I was up again, some smoke had been whisked away. The air quality reading had gone from 4 to 2 while I slept. 

While the kettle was heating for my coffee, I opened up the house again. There was something of a breeze so the cooler air started to fill the house immediately. I will be happy when the air conditioning is no longer needed. 

At 6:30 I was on my way to McArthur Island after taking a shot from my deck. My mountains looked black against the morning sky. 

I turned in at the eastern entrance as the north entrance is blocked with road construction. That is going to be a huge bottleneck when school starts on Tuesday. The high school across the street generates a lot of vehicle traffic. 

As I drove along to the north side of the island, I found a doe grazing by the roadway. She paid little or no attention to me in my car. I rolled down the window and got several shots of her. Her coat is in poor condition and she looks rather thin. This cannot be good for her. 

I parked near the foot bridge so I could get a shot of my mountains and look into the slough. The water level continues to recede. I caught a beaver cruising through the slough checking things out. 

I drove past the south side on my way out. I would normally see marmots scampering about but there was not one visible this morning. I hope they've not gone into hibernation already. 

I picked up some groceries on the way home. I expect to be in for the day. It should be somewhat cooler than yesterday. I have some sorting to do and perhaps some quilting. 

The forecast reads that we can expect a mainly cloudy day with a high of 26 C. I will appreciate a break from the heat. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.