The End of the Road - Mission Flats

A cooler day and
a cooler night gives me hope
that the heat will end

~carliewired

I had a fractious night of sleep. I finally rolled out at 6:45 with the sun pouring into the house bouncing light around the rooms. I had missed sunrise! 

I backed the car out of the garage at 7. I made a stop for a very large coffee, then headed across the bridge making the turn to Mission Flats. 

A doe stood at the roadside with her hindquarters in the underbrush. I didn't see her until she saw me first and bolted back into the trees. My bad! I was driving too fast. 

I drove to the end of the road to get my panorama of the river, the north shore and out to the delta of the lake and river. It was a morning that exceeded my expectations. The sky was beautiful and the smoke was hardly noticeable. I love the dried vegetation along the roadways. It's been bleached by the sun for many days now. 

I turned around to head back to town. I stopped by the river's edge where I often find eagles. They were not there today. Instead I had crows perched there. One looked back over his shoulder and gave me a dirty look when I took his portrait shot. 

The river channel has many sandbars now. I think boating must be something of a challenge on the Thompson River right now. I suspect those with docks along the river aren't going anywhere. 

My last shot of my mountains was looking east down the road back to the bridge.

I picked up the groceries that I'd forgotten yesterday and headed home with my breakfast. 

I will be home having a quiet day. A nap would be most appreciated. 

We've been promised a mainly sunny day with a high of 25 C. Smoke might appear this afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.