Rivers Trail - North Thompson River

A cool down while I 
slept brought the temperature
right down in the house 

~ carliewired

I closed the house up partially for overnight. I knew the temperature was forecast to drop overnight to 11 C. I didn't want the house to be cold in the morning. It was a rather cool 18 C in my kitchen at 5 AM. I closed the house up tighter until the sun warms it all again. 

I was out on the deck at 6 to catch that first colour on the horizon. Wildfire smoke has sifted into the valleys once again. It is particularly noticeable when the sun is on the horizon. 

I drove down to the Rivers Trail along the North Thompson River in Westmount at 6:45. I parked beside Westmount Park and walked up to the trail to view the railway bridge. There is a lot of vegetation between the river and the trail. I have to peek through branches at many points. 
I caught a westbound Canadian National freight train moving onto the bridge. The sun was an angry red this morning. 

I was home with a breakfast sandwich by 7:30. My daughter needs my car this morning so my photo jaunt needed to be a quick one today.
I'm in for the day with some sorting and cleaning to do. 

This is the first day of school for public schools today. I'm thinking of my teaching friends who are back at it. It's expected that covid will be passed around rather generously once schools are in full swing. Districts have not improved all the ventilation systems and masking is not mandated. This district has not even required all staff to be fully vaccinated. I find this all appalling. We may never know how many people have contracted the disease. (Testing has never been adequate.) Also, we have yet to determine the lasting effects. 

We may expect a mainly sunny day with a high of 29 C. More smoke may be in evidence by afternoon. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.