Wetlands Morning

It's the start of one
more beautiful day in late
summer - let's enjoy!

~ carliewired

I slept in until 6:30. I headed out on my deck to see if I could catch the first beam of sun over the mountains. Mission accomplished! 

I drove east towards Kamloops Lake in hopes of viewing something on the wetlands pond. Today, it was pelicans, herons and ducks. 

The herons wade around in the shallows. They move slowly and pause often, holding their poses most elegantly. 

The pelicans move in a team like a dredging machine. They form a line and slide ahead churning and scooping as they go. 

Wildflowers are few and far between. Much of the plant life has turned into seed with forms that scarcely resemble their earlier summer life. Colours are changing quickly. Insects are moving slower now, especially in the cool of morning. 

I picked up my drive-thru breakfast and was home for the 9 AM news on the radio. It was 11 C when I left the house this morning with just a touch of smoke in the air. 

We have another golden day coming on. The high expected today is 26 C with only a bit of cloud.

It's the last day of the Labour Day long weekend. I will be puttering around my house today. I've no real plans but to enjoy my day while listening to CBC radio.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.