Along the Bike Path

Our late summer day
is coming up bright and blue -
the first day of school

~ carliewired

I was on my way to Riverside Park downtown by 6:15 AM. It was 11 C and had the promise of another beautiful day. 

I parked by the tennis courts and walked up the bike path to the side of the Overlander Bridge with hopes to get the sun rising over the rivers. I made it just in time. I was pleasantly surprised that my poor old arthritic feet were up to the task today. I must be doing something right! 

The Thompson River was smooth and calm. Except for the hectic traffic on the bridge, it was a quiet morning. 

I walked back down into the park and along the path to the pier. There was a sign posted to warn of bears in the area. It was a little late for me to be getting that message. I'd almost finished my jaunt!

I looped back to my car and headed over to the drive-thru to pick up my breakfast to take home. 

We're looking at a sunny day with a high of 31 C. It will feel like summer today. 

School starts in the province. I'm thinking of my working friends who are enrolling their classes today. I have a knot in my stomach about their health and safety. I've been listening to the concerns of teachers about ventilation in schools, class size and distancing, the lack of masking for those under grade 4 and the inadequate testing and notifications that will issued where there's an incidence of the covid virus. This morning I heard an interview with the head of the provincial school trustees association. She gave her "Little Mary Sunshine" view of the situation in the province and was hanging all her hopes on the vaccinations achieved in the province. 

I am so fortunate to be retired. I will do my best to be out of harm's way in the coming weeks. I fear our numbers will soar once schools and universities are back in session. Covid 19 has stepped up its game, but we haven't. There is insufficient leadership to take the hard measures needed at this time. 

It will be another day of puttering around the house.....and maybe a nap. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.