Murals in the Downtown

Public art in the 
city gives an uplift to
the urban landscape

~ carliewired

I was up just after 5. It was grey and gloomy. The forecast offered a chance of showers, but I suspected that might just blow by us as it often does in a semi-arid climate. 

I stalled going out with my camera as the morning was so dark. I hunched over my sewing machine and did a little work on some blocks until it was obvious there would be no real sunrise this morning.

I headed for downtown with a thought to find some murals in back lanes. I kept watching the sky hoping I could get my photos before any rain appeared. I found a place to park and began to prowl around before businesses opened for the day. 

These murals are like a ray of sunshine in our downtown. We have a problem with vagrancy and homelessness. The back lanes are often the target of graffiti and vandalism. To catch a view of art in these rather undesirable margins of the city gives me a boost. 

I got back to my car and headed home with no more than a spatter of rain on the windshield. 

The temperature high expected today is 28 C with clearing in the afternoon. 

I'm home today to play with some fabric. One can never have too many plans where quilting is concerned. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.