Once Around the Butterfly Garden

The exotic blooms
of the hibiscus will soon
be gone for this year

~carliewired

I slept in until 7 this morning. I got myself out the door and on the way to McArthur Island at 7:30. I made a quick pick up at the drive-thru for my morning coffee on the way. I dodged schoolies, construction and heavy vehicle traffic. That's what happens when I am out at this time. 

I parked by the Butterfly Garden which has been recently trimmed back. All the tall spikey plants that are spent have been cleared away. The garden itself looks more like its spring version in shape. It seems to have shrunk back in size. 

I had a good look at the hibiscus plant that is now hanging over the Rivers Trail. It has one full bloom and a bud remaining. I know that I will arrive one morning to find that the entire plant has been removed to its winter hibernation in a green house. All I will see then is a hole in the ground. 

I found one very soggy bee hunkered down in a hollyhock. This poor fellow must have been waiting for the temperature to rise before venturing out. The whole garden was soaking wet with overnight watering. I appreciate the colourful booms that remain. 

As I continued to drive the loop to the exit I spied two ambling marmots. One was out sunning itself on a cement curb. The other was emerging from under a park storage unit. Just two marmots to be seen in the whole park! I wonder what's happened to the rest. 

I picked up a few groceries and some breakfast and made it home by 9:30. I'm in for the day with sorting and shuffling to do. My daughter is helping me get ready for a flooring installation next week. It's an opportunity to make changes and divest myself of things I no longer require. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 28 C. I'm much happier when temperatures do not exceed 30 C. Our overnights are cooling down too. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.